Light Electorate Office
148 Murray Street
GAWLER  SA  5118

Monday to Friday
9:00 am to 5:00pm



If you live in the Light Electorate, Tony represents your views and opinions, standing up for you and our community.

Tony in Parliament

Tony Piccolo is the (Labor) Member for the State Electoral District of Light in the House of Assembly in the South Australian Parliament (Legislature).

Tony’s electorate covers four different local government areas (City of Playford, Town of Gawler, Light Regional Council and the Barossa District Council).

In 2006, Tony was the first Labor member to be elected to the seat of Light in almost 60 years. In March 2010 and was one of only two Labor members to increase their vote at the 2010 State Election. In March 2014, Tony was re-elected to a third term to State Parliament. In March 2018, Tony was re-elected for a fourth term is a member and Patron of a number of community and volunteer organisations in his electorate.


Parliamentary Committees are just on way Tony is making your voice heard.

Tony currently sits on several Parliamentary committees which are examining issues he feels strongly about, and in the past he has presided over similar committees. See below for the committees Tony has been participating in.

Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees of the House of Assembly - Parliament of South Australia

Chair - Ministerial Advisory Group on Volunteering
Volunteering in South Australia is critically important to all of us. It provides services to communities, builds social capital, offers opportunities aligned to career and education, supports a healthier lifestyle and contributes approximately $5 billion to the States economy. The Ministerial Advisory Group on Volunteering (formerly known as the Volunteer Ministerial Advisory Group) assists in the development of a positive and active policy agenda for community participation and volunteering and for providing advice to the South Australian Government. This Advisory Group is an integral part of the Advancing the Community Together Partnership which is an agreement between the State Government and volunteer community that aims to establish a collaborative approach to advance volunteerism in South Australia.

Deputy Chair - Department of Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy (DMITRE) Business Development Council
DMITRE's vision is for a globally competetive, prosperous and sustainable South Australia.To realise this vision, the department is working towards a series of Strategic Objectives which are to:Leverage the value from our major projects for all South Australians  
- Attract and faciltate tageted business and infrastructure investment  
- Enable accessible and sustainable energy and resources  
- Drive the trasition to high-value innovative manufacturing  
- Deliver and advocate trusted regulation and targeted programs

Chairman - Select Committee on Sustainable Farming Practices
The Select Committee on Sustainable Farming Practices was appointed on 4 April 2012 to investigate and report on land arrangements for primary production (agriculture, viticulture and horticulture), mineral resources and regional development focussing on planning for farming sustainability and improving farming practices that promote the sustainable use of our State's natural resources, a clean, green food supply for South Australia and report on advantages that this promotion may bring to the South Australian economy. The committee is comprised of six MPs: Chairman Tony Piccolo MP (Lab), Dr Susan Close MP (Lab), Steven Griffiths MP (Lib), Adrian Pederick (Lib), Ivan Venning MP (Lib) and Leesa Vlahos MP (Lab). The committee is currently holding public hearings across the state. For more information, contact the Light Electorate Office on 8522 2878, secretary Lauren Tester on 8237 9220 or visit the committee's website.

Select Committee on the Grain Handling Industry
The Select Committee on the Grain Handling Industry was appointed on 9 March 2011 to investigate the grain handling industry, and in particular:
- the capacity of the market to the capacity of the market to ensure a vigorous and competitive marketplace for grain growers;
- grain classification and standards, and whether internationally approved grain testing options should be available to growers on request;
- service delivery, including human resources, operating hours and storage capacity of grain handling points;
- export and shipping arrangements, including port access and associated costs;
- grain quality management, including receiving and outturn;
- open and transparent information on all grains, including stock disclosures;
- adequacy of road and transport infrastructure for the grain industry;
- and any other related matter.

The committee is comprised of five MPs: Chairman Geoff Brock MP (Ind), Leon Bignell MP (Lab) Adrian Pederick MP (Lib), Tony Piccolo MP (Lab) and Tim Whetstone MP (Lib).

The committee reported back on 19 September 2012. The final report and all supporting documentation are available on the committee's website.

Parliament Tours

Our vision is to provide accessible, sustainable and meaningful education as well as provide the public with a memorable experience when visiting Parliament House. Complete this form to organise a tour.

The sittings of both Houses are open to members of the public and visitors are welcome.  
When Parliament is not sitting, a guided tour is available at 10am and 2pm on week days. All visits are free.

The Parliament of South Australia, the South Australian government and the Department of Education and Children's Services have a strong commitment to civics and citizenship education. They are keen to support students in their understanding of how participation and decision-making processes operate in contemporary Australia;
- for students to be informed about public issues and understand how our system of government works in practice and how it affects citizens;
- to provide opportunities for students to gain knowledge and understanding of the origins and nature of Australia's democratic processes, government, judicial system and the nation's place in the international community

The Education Officer of Parliament House
The Education Officer is employed by the Department of Education and Children's Services and provides access for the education sector to the resources of Parliament House through;
- designing and delivering professional development programs for teachers;
- Producing teaching and learning resources in line with education priorities and curriculum frameworks;
- Organising education activities and events for schools for use at Parliament House and in schools;
- Managing student visits to the Parliament House galleries.
Learn more at the Parliament South Australia website.

Parliament South Australia

For more comprehensive information on Parliament South Australia you can visit the website.

Parliament South Australia

We’re here to help. 
Contact Tony’s office.

Tony and The Light Electorate Office is available to help the community. We will try our best to find the answers you're looking for.