The Adelaide 500 is set to return to the streets of Adelaide on the 1st of December this year following the announcement by the new South Australian Premier, Peter Malinauskas, that Adelaide Oval chief executive Andrew Daniels has been appointed to lead the new South Australian Motorsport Board (SAMB).

Reviving the popular and economically positive race was one of Labor’s key election commitments after it was axed by the Marshall Liberal Government in 2020.

The announcement has been welcomed by local Member of Parliament, Tony Piccolo who said many local people were angry when Steven Marshall axed the event.

Mr Piccolo said the new government has already honoured one of its commitments it made leading up to the State Election.

“The announcement will be welcomed by local car enthusiasts and people in the hospitality and accommodation industries,” said Mr Piccolo.

Mr Piccolo said he understands the SAMB will be responsible for delivering the return of the Adelaide 500 Supercars race, which will be held from December 1-4 this year. It will also oversee the return of the Adelaide Motorsport Festival later this year.

“This government is committed to bringing back the Adelaide 500 and ensuring it is better than ever. We need more events to create and support jobs,” said Mr Piccolo.

The 2019 Adelaide 500 attracted 254,000 people, generated $45.9 million in economic activity, created 435 jobs, lured 15,200 interstate and overseas visitors and supported 90,000 visitor nights.

Andrew Daniels has a strong track record as an administrator when it comes to major events and in particular major sporting events. The beauty of the Adelaide 500 is that it combines a major sporting event with major concerts.

Mr Daniels has the experience to deliver a world-class event for South Australians this December.

He was previously Chief Executive of the original South Australian Motorsport Board which staged the Clipsal 500, General Manager of Australian Major Events, Commercial Manager of the South Australian Tourism Commission and Deputy Chief Executive of the Australian Formula One Grand Prix Board.